2020's Music programme will be announced in the Spring.  Sign up to our newsletters to keep informed.  Below is last year's programme.

Brodsky Quartet


The Brodsky Quartet were a huge success at the first Nourish in 2014 and have returned on three subsequent occasions. Formed in 1972 and still with two original members, the quartet has performed over 3000 times on all the major concert stages of the world, and released over 60 recordings. Our audiences love the exquisite control and detail, but also the passion and intensity of their performances.

The combination of this group and the music of Shostakovich is unforgettable, as we found in 2015 and again last year. For 2019 they are bringing his Seventh Quartet featuring all this composer's trademark intensity, bittersweet melodies and manic energy. Added to that is the first Beethoven ‘late quartet’ we have heard here in Bovey Tracey, his opus131: one of the most important pieces in the entire string quartet repertoire. The evening is rounded out by brilliant short pieces from Mozart, Purcell and Puccini.


PURCELL | Chacony in G Minor

MOZART | Adagio & Fugue 

PUCCINI | Crisantemi


BEETHOVEN | String Quartet Op.131

tickets £22 (U18 £5)

buy tickets online HERE or: in person from Devon Guild of Craftsmen 

Meridianum Ensemble


The Meridianum Ensemble is a trans-cultural musical collaboration, bringing together musicians from Portugal, the UK and Morocco. The seven musicians bring their individual styles to the mix – Arabic oud from Morocco, Middle-Eastern percussion, original compositions for the Persian santur & Swedish nyckelharpa, Mediaeval music from Europe with hurdy-gurdy and cittern, all inspired by traditional tunes ranging from the Eastern Mediterranean to Portugal and beyond. 

The result is a glorious infusion that would entrance audiences anywhere, and should make the perfect mid-day musical treat for our audiences on the busy main festival day of 31 August.


tickets £10 (U18 £5)

buy tickets online HERE or: in person from Devon Guild of Craftsmen 

Martin Roscoe


Nourish is delighted to announce the inclusion of Martin Roscoe in our 2019 line-up. With an extraordinary career spanning four decades, Martin is without doubt without one of the UK’s best-loved and most admired pianists. Having a repertoire of over 100 concertos he works regularly with the country’s leading orchestras, in addition to which there is a busy programme of recitals including regular appearances at the Wigmore Hall and King’s Place. Numerous recordings include a highly successful series of the complete Beethoven sonatas and, more recently, the Elgar Piano Quintet with none other than the Brodsky Quartet.

For his visit to Bovey Tracey, Martin will be bringing a programme including Schubert, Schumann, Chopin and Beethoven. Absolutely not to be missed!


BEETHOVEN | Piano Sonata Op.13, the 'Pathetique'

SCHUMANN | Kinderszenen

SCHUBERT | Impromptu no.3

SCHUBERT | Impromptu no.4

DEBUSSY | Children's Corner

CHOPIN | Barcarolle Op.60

CHOPIN | Nocturne Op.48 no.1

CHOPIN | Polonaise Op.53

tickets £20 (U18 £5)

buy tickets online HERE or: in person from Devon Guild of Craftsmen

Brodsky Quartet: what the audience said

These are just a few of the responses to the concert on 9 June 2018:

“ … a night that will live long in the memory. Feel very privileged that this quality can be seen in Bovey.”

“... fantastic, a wonderful programme that neither of us knew … an electric performance …”

“Phenomenal performance by the Brodsky Quartet last night.”

“What an absolutely astonishing evening! The Shostakovich was awe-inspiring. I was totally captivated and actually rather overcome by it - I wanted to cry it moved me so much!”

“Challenging and gripping - I didn’t want it to end … a personal and moving experience.”

“What a truly extraordinary moment in the Church as the Third Quartet faded into silence!”

live music during our Food Festival on Sat 31 August

Luc Walpot

We're always trying to find new and different musical experiences to entertain people attending our brilliant food market, so it's great to be able to say that this year we have the wonderful Dutch harpist Luc Walpot appearing in Fore St between 10am and noon. Luc, who performs on both the concert harp and the celtic harp, has a huge and diverse repertoire, so anything is possible - from Bach and Tchaikovsky through Gershwin, folk tunes of all sorts and even possibly a bit of Guns n' Roses.

Don't miss a Nourish Festival first: harp in the street!

Annika Skoogh 

with Matt Carter

Swedish singer Annika Skoogh is one of the true gems of the music scene in Devon, and a jazz singer who can hold her own with the very best.

She is heard in various trio and quartet formats, and very often in the company of prodigiously talented pianist Matt Carter, who will be backing her at Nourish. So in the middle performance slot - sometime after noon until two-ish - make time for a coffee in the square, and find out for yourself just how good these two are!

Nick Scott

Mike Cosgrave & Sophia Colkin

Two hours of whirling Irish jigs and reels from the Westcountry's leading uilleann piper Nick Scott, together with fiddler Sophia Colkin and multi-instrumentalist Mike Cosgrave. Nick has been described to me as one of the best pipers outside Ireland; Mike and Sophia were brilliant at last year's Nourish, so all three of them should be just amazing! Hear them in Fore Street from about 2pm.

Between about 2 and 4pm.